Search

Home > Staff > Academic > Academic staff
Staff

Academic staff

Academic staff

Dr Arjun Amar

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-6503304
Email: arjun.amar@uct.ac.za

A Prof Colin Attwood

Marine Protected areas; line fish population biology
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-3612
Email: Colin.Attwood@uct.ac.za

Dr Jacqueline Bishop

Evolutionary genetics and conservation biology 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-3631 
Email: jacqueline.bishop@uct.ac.za

Dr Laura Blamey

Marine Research (Ma-Re) Institute
Phone+27-(0)21-650-3283
Email: laura.blamey@uct.ac.za

 

Prof John Bolton

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-3401
Email: john.bolton@uct.ac.za

Emeritus Prof William Bond

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-2439 
Email: william.bond@uct.ac.za

Emeritus Prof George M. Branch

Rocky shore, estuarine coastal ecology; fisheries management policy; impacts of mining; marine protected areas
Phone: +27-(0)21 712 4768 
Email: mbranch@mweb.co.za

Dr Gary Bronner

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-3650 
Email: Gary.Bronner@uct.ac.za

Dr Samson Chimphango

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-2964 
Email: Samson.Chimphango@uct.ac.za

Prof Anusuya Chinsamy-Turan

Palaeobiologist; Comparative bone & teeth histology of extant & extinct vertebrates 
Phone: +27-(0)21-6503604 
Email: Anusuya.Chinsamy-Turan@uct.ac.za

A Prof Mike Cramer

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-2444 
Email: michael.cramer@uct.ac.za

Dr Susan Cunningham

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-3306
Email: sj.cunningham@uct.ac.za

Emeritus A Prof Jenny A. Day

Fresh water ecology; ecotoxicology; water quality; conservation of water ecosystems. 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-3636
Email: Jenny.Day@uct.ac.za

A Prof Edmund February


Phone: +27-(0)21-650-3712
Email: edmund.february@uct.ac.za

Emeritus Prof Gerd Gäde

Invertebrates; neuropeptides; intermediary metabolism; flight; phylogeny. 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-3606 
Email: Gerd.Gade@uct.ac.za

A Prof Lindsey Gillson

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-5552 
Email: Lindsey.Gillson@uct.ac.za

Emeritus Prof Charles L. Griffiths

Marine biodiversity and systematics, marine alien species, coastal ecology 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-3610 
Email: Charles.Griffiths@uct.ac.za

Prof Terry Hedderson

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-4037 
Email: terry.hedderson@uct.ac.za

Dr. Eleonore Hellard

 
Phone:  +27-(0)21-650-1628 
Email: eleonore.hellard@gmail.com

Prof Timm Hoffman

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-5551 
Email: Timm.Hoffman@uct.ac.za 

A Prof John H. Hoffmann

Entomologist 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-5556 
Email: John.Hoffmann@uct.ac.za 

A Prof David Jacobs

Evolutionary biology including phylogegraphy, biogeography, behavioural ecology, sociobiology; small mammals.
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-4011
Email: David.Jacobs@uct.ac.za

A Prof Astrid Jarre

Marine Ecology & Fisheries - Eco-system modelling; eco-system approach to fisheries management
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-5453
Email: Astrid.Jarre@uct.ac.za

Emeritus A Prof Jenny U.M. Jarvis

 

Email: Jenny.Jarvis@uct.ac.za

Dr Roisin Kelly-Laubscher

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-2435 
Email: Roisin.Kelly@uct.ac.za

A Prof Mike I. Lucas

Biological oceanography; biogeochemical cycling; Benguela upwelling and Southern Ocean ecosystems 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-3620 
Email: Michael.Lucas@uct.ac.za

Dr Heather G Marco

Crustacean neuro-endocrinology 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-3606 
Email: Heather.Marco@uct.ac.za

Prof Jeremy Midgley

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-5868 
Email: jeremy.midgley@uct.ac.za

A Prof Coleen Moloney

Ecological modelling 
Phone: +27-(0)21-2681 Lab 021 650 3613 
Email: Coleen.Moloney@uct.ac.za

A Prof Muthama Muasya

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-650-3725 
Email: Muthama.Muasya@uct.ac.za 

Prof M Justin O'Riain

Behavioural ecology, Sociality, Evolution, Mammals, Human-wildlife conflict, Conservation, Wildlife management 
Phone: +27-(0)21-3645 
Email: Justin.Oriain@uct.ac.za

A Prof Mike D. Picker

Insect ecology of semiarid regions; insect systematics; insect biogeography 
Phone: +27-(0)21-3630 
Email: Mike.Picker@uct.ac.za

Dr Deena Pillay

Marine biology: estuarine and intertidal ecology 
Phone: +27-(0)21-3624 
Email: Deena.Pillay@uct.ac.za

Dr Cecile Reed

Aquatic parasitology and freshwater ecology 
Phone: +27-(0)21-5932 
Email: Cecile.Reed@uct.ac.za

Professor Peter G. Ryan

Seabird conservation and foraging ecology, island conservation and management, ecological speciation, marine litter 
Phone: +27-(0)21-2966 
Email: Peter.Ryan@uct.ac.za

Dr Lynne Shannon

SARChI - Marine Ecology & Fisheries 
Phone: +27-(0)21-5454 
Email: lynne.shannon@uct.ac.za 

Dr Robert Thomson

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-3699
Email: robert.thomson@uct.ac.za

Emeritus Prof Les Underhill

ADU Director
Phone: +27-(0)21-3227
Email: les.underhill@uct.ac.za

A Prof Tony Verboom

 
Phone: +27-(0)21-3398 
Email: tony.verboom@uct.ac.za 

Dr Adam West

Plant ecophysiology • stable isotope ecology • climate change • drought • human impacts on vegetation processes • spatial ecology and ecophysiology.
Phone: +27-(0)21-3628 
Email: adam.west@uct.ac.za